National Code of Conduct for Health Care Workers

On the 17th of April 2015, the COAG Health Council met and agreed to the terms of the first National Code of Conduct for health care workers (see this COAG Health Council communique).

The National Code applies to anyone providing health services in Australia who is not a member of an AHPRA-registered profession, including audiologists.  Complaints regarding breaches of the National Code should be made to the health complaints ombudsman in the relevant state or territory (see below).

Audiology Australia has you prepared!

On the 1st of July 2016, Audiology Australia enacted a new Code of Conduct.  This new Code of Conduct was developed not only to ensure a uniformity of expectations for audiologists and audiometrists regardless of the professional body they belonged to, but also to ensure that our members were compliant with the National Code.

National Code is being enacted in all Australian jurisdictions

Queensland: National Code enacted from the 1st of October 2015, read more here on Queensland Health's website including how to make a complaint.

Tasmania: On the 17 March 2017, Audiology Australia submitted its response to the Consultation Paper on the implementation of the National Code of Conduct for health care workers in Tasmania.  You can read more and keep updated on the Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Service's website.

Victoria: National Code enacted from the 1st of February 2017, read more in this media release published 14 Dec 2016 by the outgoing Office of the Health Services Commissioner and here on the new Health Complaints Commissioner's (Vic) website.
You can read about the changes to the Health Complaints Act 2016 (Vic) in this letter from the outgoing Health Services Commissioner on the 8 December 2016.

Existing codes applicable to audiologists in place in some jurisdictions

Note that code of conduct and related legislation that applies to audiologists is already in place in the following jurisdictions and will remain in place until the new National Code is enacted:

New South Wales: read more here

South Australia: read more here